I braided a rug!

Deb G

It looks a lot better in person, but I just had to share. When I placed it on the floor in my Glencroft living room, it just blew me away, it looks so real! I put a couple of images in my gallery. The color is really a nice combination of earthtone browns, no matter what the image looks like.

Deb, it looks great! Do you have it glued to a backing? I've been thinking of braiding some rugs for the White Orchid. I can just see the little girl elf braiding them. :banana:

Deb, it looks great! Do you have it glued to a backing? I've been thinking of braiding some rugs for the White Orchid. I can just see the little girl elf braiding them. :banana:
I used an iron on bonding fabric, the kind you would use to bond an applique to a shirt, then I bonded a piece of muslin to the back. Very flexible. It's my first attempt, and I can't wait to try it again. I still can't get over how realistic it looks in the house!

I love it. Oval rugs are my favorite. I only own 1. Fantastic job. What material is it made out of? Can you give us a tut? I'd love to try it!