Advice, please

lmgervais

I need some advice on clothing dolls. I am in the process of making a family of dolls for my modern-day glencroft-bash. There is a mother, father, boy 6-7, boy 3-4, and girl 0-1, or at least that is what I am trying for.

I made the heads, hands and feet from Fimo using molds, and the bodies from wire so that they can be positioned. I've wrapped the bodies in cotton batting and white material cut on the bias (as suggested in another website, just can't remember which one right now). So, I have the basic body shapes (hands not attached yet), and they need clothes.

I've read that a lot of people just glue the clothes to the body. However, I would like them to be able to be wearing pj's or everyday clothes. Is this possible? If so, how do I make the clothes so that they are removable?

I'm not fabulous at sewing, but can do some stuff. And, this is my first attempt at making dolls, so I'm not worried if they don't turn out perfect. It took me two sets of heads before I got some that looked ok. I'm hoping they will look better with hair once I get to that part!

Any suggestions appreciated.

P.S. Wolfie, I would LOVE to be able to have you make all my dolls, but that is not right now!

I can't help you with removeable clothing.....I just plain don't like them on the mini dolls as they always look too big for the doll's bodies, but some people like them, so you'll have to get that advice from them......

If I were you, and you really wanted the removeable clothing, I would get a pattern book, cut out the patterns in paper towels and fit them to the dolls giving extra room for making them removeable.

That's all I can say....

I have never had dolls that tiny with removable clothing! The Li'l Bratz & Li'l Boyz dolls have removable clothing, but I wouldn't begin to attempt to try making them other clothes. I just imagine my little people putting on their nightclothes to go to bed, or undressing for bathing, etc.