New to minis

cjack

Hi everyone! My name is Cathy and I am new to this group. Not sure if you would say I am new to minis or not since I have had the Greenleaf Willowcrest in my attic since 1992 and finally got the opportunity to start building it. So, the interest has been there since then but the time to build it is recent. I am a hobbiest and do everything from making porcelain dolls to faux finishing my walls. About the only thing I don't do is knit and that is because I just can't get my thumbs to cooperate. I am married with 2 great step daughters and one grandson. The only children now living at home is my husband and our 4 scottish fold kitties. I am about 1/3 of the way into the Willowcrest and have learned 2 very important things. First and foremost is that this hobby has turned me into a compulsive/obsessive personality. The second thing is that working on minis with 4 cats is just way too much fun. I just recently found this website and hope to learn alot from fellow miniaturists. I just wish I had found you sooner while I was learning about electrifying dollhouses. I have had to learn by myself but now feel so confident about it that my husband is worried I may try to re-do our home. He lives in constant fear everytime I try my hand at something new. Luckily for me he too is a hobbiest and likes to build things. However, he has refused to touch my little house. I guess that could be lucky too. Anyway, I look forward to sharing my experiences with the Willowcrest and hope to learn alot from all you experienced miniaturists. I welcome all hints and assists!!

HI and welcome. The Willowcrest is def. on my must have list! You should see Nutti's it is just beautiful. I used to make porcelain also, I have just started to try my hand sculpting my own. This is such a great hobby, you get to do a little bit of everything.