Question about 1/24 scale

JVD

Hi,

I'm new to the forum and almost new to miniatures (I built my first and only dollhouse over 10 years ago).

I decided to build another one, and since I don't have a lot of space, I like the idea of building a 1/24 scale house. However, I'm concerned that it will be difficult/expensive to decorate since most furniture and furniture kits are 1/12 scale. What have your experiences with 1/24 scale been? Would you recommend it to a beginner?

Also, what 1/24 house kit would you recommend? I would be happy with a four room cottage, but of the few 1/24 kits I've found, all are large like the Fairfield.

Thanks!

A Large 1/24th scale house is only as wide as a table place mat which makes the foot print smaller but you still have a mansion house :) The lights and stuff can get expensive but I say get what you want. I have been doing halfscale for about 6 years and I am so happy my friend made me appreciate that scale because it's fun! Buy the house you like. In half scale, it should still be fun.

Welcome to the neighborhood J :lol:

Hbs carries a lot of 1:24 scale items: http://www.miniatures.com/hbs/global/Index...=&MAXPRICE= I built & I'm still decorating my first 1:24 scale build, the "pueblo" dh kit from HBS, the pictures are in my album, "La Casita". I found several furniture kits at Ron's in Orlando, they are much less expensive than their 1:12 counterparts. Having put them together, most of them would have been easy for me to scratch build. I have also made scratch items (like the stove) from 1:24 scale DIY projects from some of the mini magazines.

Remember that a 1:24 scale item is 1/2 as tall,1/2 as wide and 1/2 as deep as a 1:12 item, so it only occupies 1/8 the volume

gallery_8_1766_107489.jpg

(1/2X1/2X1/2=1/8); however, the kit I built for my "dry run" only has four rooms:

gallery_8_1766_430221.jpg