New and very green

Jo Med

Hello.

I'm Jo from the UK and I have just joined the forum.

I constructed a very simple dollhouse for my granddaughter for Christmas 2008 and had a great time doing it so my husband bought me one of my very own. Ambition got the better of me and I chose the biggest most elaborate one I could find, the Garfield, and it arrived this week. I must admit to being totally daunted by the prospect of beginning this project and am now trying to gather all the help I can find. First problem - where to start building. I can't put the dining room out of commission for months, the opening to the loft is quite small and could mean that the house has to reside there permanently and the garage is very cold at this time of year. I'm sure I will find a suitable place but what when I do?? Do I build and then decorate, decorate as I go along - and oh - electrics scare me - where to start. That's the reason I joined this forum, I'm a complete novice.

Personally, I work full time for Royal Mail as a development manager, have one son, two very nosey siamese cats, a husband and a mother all living with me and I have to make room amongst all of that for a not very miniature dollhouse.

I would welcome the assistance of anyone who has built the Garfield.

Cheers

Jo

The Garfield is a piece of cake! Just relax and do one step at a time. It's a magnificant house when finished and many here have built one. I have one in the box but cannot build it in this house as it would never fit through any of my doors. Next house for me! Anyway good luck, and if you have any questions just ask! And by the way, welcome to the forum!

Welcome, Jo!

Perhaps building the house on a table with wheels can help. I have a modest apartment and for me it helps that some of my furniture is on wheels, so I can move it (a bit ;) ) when I want to access something behind it.