hi there

Hi everyone,

Glad to have found this forum! I'm new to dollhouse kits and will probably be posting panicky "what did I do wrong???" posts any day now. When I was younger, I used to build dollhouses (or houses for trolls, or minature cats-- pretty much anything that seemed "homeless" and gave me an excuse to build) out of whatever materials I found lying around the house. I'd also make detailed mini furniture pieces, magazines, etc., mainly because I am obsessed with detail on all things small.

However, I'm new to kits-- and thus new to "rules" about how to build things. Also, rulers and I have never gotten along very well, so I foresee crooked walls and jutting-out pieces in the near future.

(I hope I'm not posting too much detail here-- not sure how much to say :blink: )

Recently, I restored, as best I could, my childhood dollhouse (1/2 scale). Then I found a shell of the same dollhouse (all the walls, stairs, etc. were gone) and am almost done redoing it: added walls (different layout than original house), added stairs (from Houseworks staircase kit), wallpapered, put in new floors, primed the outside and gave it a new paint job, changed the roof, etc. I'm excited because it doesn't even look like my own original!

I like 1/2 scale and think I'll stick with it (*any* tips for where to find 1/2 scale stuff would be appreciated). I have a 1/2 scale Greenleaf Fairfield dollhouse and a Real Good Toys lighthouse keeper's cottage kit at the moment. I thought I'd start with the small kit and work my way up from there.

So, that's my too-long intro. Glad to be here! :D

Welcome, elvisettey!

Glad you found this board! It must be so much fun getting to redo your childhood dolhouse. I don't have a clue what happened to mine. I've never done 1/2 scale but I love to look at them. They are so tiny and cute! :blink: