Build from Scratch?

Liggysasha

I'm still relatively new to mini-ing, but I'm so addicted. My hubby has been quietly supportive, but now the house is really taking shape he is getting more an more interested.

He mentioned today that he would like me to design a dollhouse and him to build it from scratch for me (in RL I'm a house plan designer). I don't think I'm up to doing dollhouse plans just yet, but I mentioned to him that you can buy plans very cheaply. So now he is hell bent on building a house from scratch!

So my question is... where do we start? Books? Websites? Who does nice designs? Also what sort of tools? We have a pretty well stocked workshop, but mainly large tools. I've said I'd like a Dremel tool when the economy recovers a bit (???), and he's agreed. What other tools would be useful/nesecary?

(Also is there dollhouse design software? To deisgn house plans?)

I've been trying to use a house design program, but its too restrictive (cookie cutter sums it up) so I'm going to install autocad. The only problem is I'm only familiar with old-fashioned drafting.

Regarding tools, the only power tool that I used on the MacKenzie was a soldering iron for the electrical. Everything else was hand cut and trimed using a modeler's hand saw and an exacto knife.

My husband also wants me to build a house from scratch. The problem is that he wants me to build a dollhouse version of the RL house we are going to build. I couldn't do it in 1:1 scale like I usually build or it would be crazy big. I don't know much about doing smaller scale. My hubby is a structural designer so he is willing to draw it up. I don't know what to use wood or foam core or what. Plus with a real house there is no way I could get the whole inside that could be visible so do I do just the outside and make it not open??? The whole idea just sounds stressful to me. I like having instructions it just makes my life alot easier :unsure: