DIY ideas half scale old fashion sink?

Shanna

Hi,

I'm new to this dollhouse stuff and am constantly amazed by how you all can turn misc. whatnot into beautiful, creative dh items! Seriously, I'm so impressed! So, after wracking my brain and coming up with no good ideas, it occured to ask for help...

I want to make a half-scale old fashion sink like the one in the picture I hope will show up below. I suppose I could use clay? But I don't know what to use as a mold so that it will be uniform and smooth (I'm not talented enough to do this out of clay or anything else without a mold). I'm thinking it should be about... what? somewhere around 1.5 to 2 inches wide (from the wall), and maybe 1/2 to 3/4 inch deep? What do you think? Any ideas?

THANK YOU!!

post-3478-1224617583_thumb.jpg

I would use one of those single-serving jelly containers to mold the clay around, then cut it in half and mold a bit of clay on the cut end to make the drainboard part. You can make your taps & drainpipe from clay painted silvery and use the turned toothpicks for the legs.

Thanks Holly. I'm not sure if the single-serve jelly tub would be quite big enough for a double wide sink like this? Maybe for shaping the inside? After you suggested that, I thought about maybe a small mint tin (like for mini-altoids?), but then I started looking at clay... oh my.

I didn't know there are dozens of different kinds of clay, and I don't know if any of the home-bake type would come out shiny like a sink. I'm totally overwhelmed and discouraged now :wave:

dont be overwhelmed or discouraged...just give it a go...if your first attempt is useless, laugh at it take a pic and destroy it!!! :)

Thats what i do all the time 2nd attempt will be better :)

Shanna, your timing is so funny! Don't be discouraged! I just went through the same process myself. I certainly don't have a budget for a $40 dollar sink so I fiddled around and made one myself.