Beacon Hill comes tomorrow

Just One More

Just checked and UPS will be here tomorrow. There are so many decisions, siding, stucco, additions etc. Is it easier to do the siding before assembly? Fitting around windows would be easier and weighting would be easier if pieces were flat, but don't know if that's a good idea. Would windows fit over the siding? Also the tabs and slots would have to be free. Haven't decided on a color or anything. If the floor graining is nice I'll just stain them. I've been lucky in this department with my other houses. I don't think the stairs will be much different than the Pierce. I want to really take my time with this house. I'll take lots of pics to share. :groucho:

Yeah Pat! The Beacon Hill is such a beautiful house. I'll bet you can hardly wait for it to arrive.

I've never done siding before building. I would be afraid it would get in the way. I think it would be better to build and side later, but maybe someone else has done it the other way.

You can do the windos whichever way you prefer. I like to put in my windows and then add the siding around them, but others like to side and then do windows. I'm not helping, am I? There are so many ways to do things you have to just decide which way seems best for you and go for it!

Can't wait to see pictures when you get started.

I love the Beacon Hill and would someday like to build it. But since I have been working on my Willowcrest for more than 2 years, I don't think I will hold my breath for it. Looking forward to seeing lots of pics as you go.

Pat, I lay the door and window trims onto the exterior walls over the openings and trace around them, and then butt the siding up to the lines I've drawn, and then install the windows last. I do side AFTER the rest of the build, and when I can't lay it flat with weights I use masking tape, scrapwood & clamps.