Making books

Caseymini

Jumping in with both feet now. I hope they don't get stuck in my mouth!

I am new at this. I hope I am putting this in the right place.

Heidi, I saw that you were going to have to make lots of books for your library. If you don't have to have them open, here's an easy way to do it.

Go to Wal Mart or one of the craft stores and buy a couple of sheets of craft foam that the kids use. It comes in 8 1/2 by 11 sheets. It is about the right thickness for a mini book. The reason I use this is, it can be easily cut with scissors and works with regular white glue. I use the white sheets.

1. Take a pen or pencil and ruler and divide it into the size books you want. I usually use about 1/2" by 3/4" to make it easy to draw. You can get MANY books from just one or two sheets.

2. Cut the sheet with scissors into strips and then into the individual books.

I use leather or colored cardstock to cover. Leather is easier because it bends without scoring. The cardstock has to be bent to fit around with creases in it.

3. Cut a long strip of cover material that is wide enough to cover the front, spine and back of the books.

4. Glue the book forms close to one edge in a line. These will be the length of the strip and the books will now have front covers.

5. Cut between the "books" all the way across the width of the strip.

6. Bring the leather around to the back of the book and glue.

7. Let the books dry and then trim all of the edges with scissors.

8. You can even put titles on the spines with a fine tipped pen.

I save the book club ads from magazines when they are small enough. You can glue one of the little book fronts on your book and lay it on a chair.

Hi!

I forgot to add that lady's leather gloves are a good source for thin leather for the covers.

If you want to do it with colored cardstock you will have to Bend a spine in the center of the strip. Then glue the fronts right next to the fold before cutting between the books.