New Kid!

sammything

Hello Everyone!

first all, this is my first project, ever. (The Coventry Cottage). I have no woodworking skills, and am clumsy and accident prone. What I do have, is a ton on enthusiasm.

Of course, here I have opened the box, and have run in to my first question. The kit says to use a sealant of 50% alcohol, 50% shellac. My husband, after I treated one piece, said I should use polyurethane. Any thoughts on this? How many coats should I use? IF I used polyurethane on the other pieces, should I re-treat the first pice with it as well?

Again, enthusiasm, not talent..

Thanks in advance for your help!

Lori

Welcome, Lori, First I decide what I want to stain, because stain will not go on over sealant. Second, I wish that particular alcohol/ shellac mixture were not given, or at least not as the only sealant. I happen to use Deft clear poly sanding sealer, or you could use a primer. The main purpose of sealing is to minimize warping & splintering (ha!), so I seal the whole plywood sheet before removing any pieces, first one side & let it dry flat, then the second side & let it dry flat. If I'm staining anything I mask it off from the rest of the sheet & apply the stain & let that dry & then proceed with the sealing.

Some people prefer not to seal because they feel they get a better bond of wood to wood with carpenter's wood glue without sealing; I haven't noticed any appreciable difference (please do NOT assemble your kit with hot glue unless you use it to tack the edges together while the wood glue cures; I use masking tape to hold mine together until the glue is dry). As you read the posts & blogs you'll get lots of ideas to pick & choose among for whatever will work best for you.

Ditto for tools. Proceed with caution, remembering tools that can bite usually will. A new sharp blade is actually safer than a dull blade, so keep extras on hand. I use a Stanley utility knife for house kits, I save my little craft knife for furniture.