Hi from Cranbrook Ontario

John

Hi everyone I am john from Cranbrook Ontario. I am a retired carpenter due to an injury about 6 1/2 years ago so i now spend most of my time building one of a kind minature houses but they are for birds.

I call them Extreme Birdhouses and they are all made from reclaimed barn wood. I have built 33 of them so far . They range from 2ft up to 9 ft wide http://community.webshots.com/user/cranbrook2

One problem i have always had is try to find anything miniature for them so i usually make do with what i have.

I am hoping this site can help me in many ways.

I also just became a grandpa to a beautiful little girl 6 months ago so i am also interested in building a few doll houses .

I Look forward to meeting new people and learning whatever i can and it is a pleasure to be here.

219894558.jpg

296075648.jpg

Thanks

john

Welcome to the forum "family", John, it's a great place to hang out and exchange ideas. Your birdhouses are palatial! I can only imagine what you'll build your granddaughter! Our newest will be One on 2/1.

Thank you everyone for the warm welcome. :D

My father is from Switzerland and i remember when i was a little boy he showed me pictures of some miniatures in a theme park in Switzerland and i have been hooked ever since.

Hi Kathie and thank you . I get mostly sparrows and swallows in the large houses and Purple Martins in the small houses . It just depends on the size of the nest and hole size.

I was looking in your gallery and you have done a lot of nice work . Do you make everything from scratch or are there kits that you can buy? Also what would be the scale of them?

This birdhouse is my largest house , it is 9 ft wide and just over 8 ft tall. It has 14 roofs , 32 dormers and 103 apartments. It is made from 150 year old barn wood.

288580417.jpg

287885533.jpg

293360916.jpg

HI John! I love the little furries on the porches. Great houses, great photos! :yes: