newbie here

Tessy

Just wanted to say Hi to everyone . New to the miniature world and might I add that it is very additive.

Im in the process of building my first doll house . altho I got it off ebay and its a Dura Craft I am having alot of fun with it . Yes my family is about to send me to the mental home . cause that is all i talk about. when I talk about making something . they now say to me ...... your dollhouse? I got my first dollhouse in a garage sale. 4 rooms for 5 bucks . thats what got me started in the miniature world . I always wanted one as a kid . but back then, it cost to much . This new house im making for my granddaughter Zelda . who is 3 years old right now . she got alopecia areata (loss of all hair ) when she was 2 years old . so I wanted to do something special just for her.

if anyone has any good ideas/patterns on making furniture made out of sticks, I would be so greatful..

thanks again . Tessy.

Wecome to our little forum family, Diane. I'd be interested to know which Dura-Craft kit you're building. I have built the San Franciscan (the last all-wood version) and the Cambridge and I have a Newberg in the box waiting its turn. From your comment about the addictive nature of this obse - er - hobby you must already be planning your next house(s) build.

I'm a retired public health nurse and I did elementary school nursing. One of my little girls at one of my large schools shared your granddaughter's condition and she wore the cutest little floppy hats to school to protect her scalp from the sun.

Hello Diane!

DuraCraft kits are great...all kits are great in my opinion. I have the Marquam Hill Mansion (built) and the Bellingham Farmhouse (in box).

Glad you found us to share in this fullfilling hobby.