The Laurel-My first attempt

pamlynn

Hi there. This is my first attempt at putting together a dollhouse for my daughter. It's supposed to be the big Christmas gift this year. Does anyone have any helpful hints for me? Also, I wasn't able to find anything that said shellac, so I got all purpose sealer. Am I supposed to mix this half and half with rubbing alcohol?

• Replies 57
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Congratulations on a very worthy project. Work on it as often as possible as it will take longer than you expect. Christmas gets here mighty fast! I found out that small pieces of double sided tape will work wonders to hold trim or other parts in place so you can see how they look before the final gluing.

The only sealer I use is primer and that is only on places I want to paint. You can use stain right on the floor and then put poly over it if you want wood floors. ( some people score the floors first to give it a more realistic look) I did the Laurel for my daughter and it is a great easy house to do.

I'm not sure what scoring the floor is. I just thought I'd sand it up a bit and wait for inspiration to hit. As I'm unsure what the floors and walls will look like, I was going to make patterns for them and decorate them later. Does this sound the way to go?